Georgia Child Labor Laws for Entertainment
Since 2020, Georgia and specifically Atlanta, has been the third leg of the film and entertainment industry triad. In 2022, 412 productions were filmed there, including Marvel Studios feature films, and series like Stranger Things, Ozark and the Wonder Years. It is fueled by the nation’s most generous tax credit program, which gives film makers up to 30% of production costs with no cap. In 2023 that incentive was announced to be $1.3 billion. For more about film incentives like this, and how it affects “local hires” and young actors read our Film Incentives page.
As a result of the growing industry presence, the Georgia Department of Labor revamped their child labor “Rules” in late 2017 and has slightly updated them a couple of times since then. The law existed before, but the Department of Labor is charged with enforcing those laws with specific guidelines, called Rules.
Bizparentz, along with many local families had significant input into the new Rules via letters, petitions and public hearings. Thank you to all the Georgia parents who made time to get involved! The Rules may not be perfect, but they are a vast improvement over the previous versions!
State Website on Child Entertainment
Entirety of the Rules (free, log in required)
Highlights of Georgia Child Actor Laws
- Production gets the work permit for each production, called a Child Labor Application for Employment of Minors in Entertainment. It must be submitted 5 days prior to commencing production. Employers must be “certified” before they can employ a minor. As part of the Rule revision, Georgia will be implementing a new electronic system for certification.
- Education must be provided by production if the child works more than one day in a week. The parent is responsible for keeping a log of work hours to be given to the Child Labor Coordinator (CLC). (dt_gap height=”10″ /]
- Every child performer must have a “Minor Representative” (usually the parent) who is cleared in advance by the State. This person must be on set 24/7 and is responsible for the child. A video about these responsibilities is here.
- All child performers must be “registered” in Georgia, and that registration/certification is good until they are 18. The state asks that the annual recertification be done as well (mostly for the an updated address). The site to register and get your certification, and to recertify annually, is here. A video about this is here.
- Limited work hours that mirror SAG-AFTRA’s and California law. They are tiered by age, and include rest and relaxation. The work hours are embedded as a PDF below (so you can print it out to take it with you to set) Work Hours Georgia
- A Child Labor Coordinator (CLC) must be employed by the production for coordination and safety of the minor’s employment. This person must be 21 years old and must have gone through a background check, and must pass an online test about child labor law. A video overview of this position is here.
- All minors must have a Child Representative (aka parent or guardian) present at all times. Kids 6-16 must have a parent OR the parent must sign over the child to the Child Labor Coordinator, if both the Child Representative and the Child LAbor Coordinator agree to the arrangement. Bizparentz NOTE: We highly encourage all parents to be within sight and sound of your child. Signing over your child’s safety to their employer is dangerous! There is NO CIRCUMSTANCE, ever, where a parent (or the “minor’s representative”) should not be within sight and sound of their child.
- No nudity or partial nudity in sexually explicit acts are allowed, nor are minors allowed to be present when adults are filming nudity.
- Minimum 12 hour turnaround before school or call time the next day.
- Travel time from studio to location is considered part of the work day.
****There is NO Coogan or trust account requirement in Georgia.****